The Viking Experience by Marjolein Stern and Roderick Dale

The Viking Experience

The Viking Experience is a general history of the Vikings by Dr Marjolein Stern and yours truly, and I am excited that it is now available through Amazon. Far be it from me to praise this book overmuch but I am really quite pleased with how it turned out. It is in full colour with plenty of illustrations and comes in a slipcase with removable inserts illustrating important documents of the time. Rather than blather on about it, I shall let the publisher’s blurb speak for me:

‘From the remote and unforgiving landscape of northern Europe, the Vikings voyaged to far-flung areas of the world with extraordinary consequences. The Viking Experience examines the origins, explorations and settlements of these seafaring people, exploring their impact on the world as colonizers, craftsmen, traders and state-makers. This highly illustrated book provides a revealing portrait of the Vikings’ incredible legacy with a collection of facsimiles and translations of rare documents, including:

  • Drawings and photographs from archaeological dig sites
  • An extract from the Anglo Saxon Chronicle, describing a Viking raid on Lindisfarne
  • The Skálholt map that marks Norse discoveries in the western Atlantic
  • A page from the Stockholm Codex Aureus, an illuminated manuscript that was looted by the Vikings
  • The Vinland map showing Norse exploration of America as an example of recreated Viking history’
About ruarigh

Historical consultant, archaeologist and PhD researcher at Nottingham University. I have just submitted a cognitive analysis and textual archaeology of the Old Norse berserkr in popular culture from the early medieval period to the present day.
This entry was posted in Blatant Self-Promotion, Books, Vikings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Viking Experience by Marjolein Stern and Roderick Dale

  1. Nice the experience viking

  2. CG Olsen says:

    Reblogged this on Vikings, Books, etc. and commented:
    This is another cheater-reblog (meaning I don’t have to put much effort into it), but I wanted to share this book coauthored by a friend of mine (who also has an awesome blog, and who is an expert in berserks, if you’re into that–and who isn’t?). I haven’t gotten my hands on a copy yet, but I look forward to checking it out! Remember also my list of sources in my post on the Vikings miniseries (near the end of that post, after all my griping about the first episode). There is also another new history of the Vikings by Anders Winroth (I don’t know him myself, but he is married to one of my friends in the field). Yeah, I need to check that one out as well–gone are the days when publishers would just send me complimentary copies of books out of the blue to try to convince me to use them in my classes. :( But we’ll see, maybe I’ll get back into it one day…

    • ruarigh says:

      Thanks for the reblog. Any chance that improves the possibility that this book might actually earn us some royalties is always welcome! Enough for a beer would keep me happy. :)

      I need to check out Anders’ book as well, especially after his paper the other week (month?) about berserks.

      • CG Olsen says:

        Well, I hope it sells really well and you get a ton of royalties! I tend to assume that books on a popular subject like this that have lots of pictures ought to do really well, but maybe that’s not the case (and going from the experiences of my professional fiction writing friends, it’s just incredibly difficult to make money off of books, period…at least if you are the one doing the writing.)

  3. ruarigh says:

    That’s the impression I have as well. Books don’t seem to make much money. This one is aimed at the general market and seems to be making it into the right museums, so maybe there is a chance for good sales, but I doubt that I shall be able to retire on the proceeds. Still, friends and family that have read it are positive and that is gratifying.

Leave a Reply

